Same brand. Different product. Still macho.

 

And here’s the cowboy:

 

Cowboy up.

It appears I overlooked some things regarding my last post.  Namely the fact I didn’t include the full shot of the cowboy.  I’ll admit feeling a little sheepish now, about my previous comments that the horse appeared subservient and docile.  As the above image depicts, the horse is clearly rearing up its hind legs as if about to kick some sort of onion interloper behind said celebrating cowboy.  Silly me.  At least I think that’s what it looks like.  Or perhaps the horse is trying to buck its master, as this does seem rather rodeo-ish to me.  I don’t know.  I don’t know much about horses.

The bucking theory seems to suggest the cowboy is not in control.  That seems rather contrary to the macho image.  Perhaps this explains the cowboy’s hat flying through the air (but does not explain his improper use of the hat string), although I’d have to do some physics research to determine which way the hat would fly off, if the horse had, in fact, tried to fling the cowboy off its back.  Maybe I’m looking too deep into this.

Speaking of too deep, does the horse/cowboy shadow resemble a cross to anyone else?  Not to mention, would they make a shadow in such a way, given the position of the sun?  Religious undertones?  Is the cowboy Jesus, or the horse?  And what does this mean for the onion?

Ack, this blog is getting no where.

More questions and more on the macho theory:   What is the desired effect in naming a product “macho?”  Who is the target audience?  As a male, I can attest to the fact I don’t think much about onions, like whether or not I appear more manly for buying onions, or less manly for that matter.  I don’t stop and look around to make sure no one is watching me before I pick up some onions for making manly nachos, while I shop at the grocery store.

Generic Male Customer #1:  “Oh, dude, that guy totally just bought some onions… what a sissy.”

Generic Male Customer #2:  “No way, bro, those are “Macho” onions.”

Generic Male Customer #1:  “Damn, my bad.  What a badass.”

But then again, to be fair, as far as my shampoo prefrences go, I do totally buy shampoos designed for men (Man-poos for short).  And vitamins for that matter.  Men’s health formula.  That’s right.  Unh!  Pure testosterone impulse buys.  And sometimes clothes designed for men.  I don’t know, it just seems right.  But, would the ladies shy away from a product branded as “Macho?”  Um, probably not.  Most people are just going to buy a vegatable based on need, and preferred kind (i.e. red, yellow, Spanish, white onion, etc), not brand, and probably (for some) what’s on sale/cheapest.

One close friend of mine, a university professor (I know smart people.), offered up a theory that perhaps the advertisers here are attempting to appeal to those that suggest crying is considered unmacho.  As we all know, men don’t cry and shouldn’t (because we don’t),  and cutting onions make people cry (but not cutting hippies, as the old joke goes… Hay-oh!).  Thus some males may think twice about using onions in their cooking, because crying is not manly.  But not if they are “Macho” onions.  To make yourself feel better about the manly tears, all one has to think about is that they are crying because they are dicing up macho onions.  Those onions are tough, strong and powerful, like you.  Of course you’re going to cry.  They’re manly tears, bro.  You and the macho onions sharing the experience together in manhood.  It’s ok.

